pigs_flying.jpgThe link below summarizes my friend K’s and my history quite well but I need to suck you in first so you go check it yourself, right?

We’ve known each other since we were 13’ish. I met her at M’s house and they were listening to Peter Frampton’ live album in Pat’s room (his walls were painted black—if only I’d figured out then what I found out later—well, ’nuff said).

If you’ve never heard of Frampton don’t tell me, but here’s something I wrote about him a few months ago: Dinosaurs in the midst

I remember writing in my diary about being unhappy (read: jealous) that M. had “some girl” in over and they were listening to the album M. had promised we would listen to together. Oh the nerve!

Over time we’ve remained friends through thick and thin. It’s the type of friendship we can just pick up where we last left off, whether it was 5 minutes ago or 5 months ago. How many people can you do that with?

We were born a week apart, and she’s an extended member of my family. She and my mom were pregnant at the same time. K. got married soon after that and frankly, that marriage was doomed from the start. ‘Nuff said…

When she got out of that marriage she didn’t even have to say it, but we both knew she was never gonna get married again. Knowing what she’d been through I couldn’t blame her.

She moved to Santa Fe a few years ago, but we’ve stayed in touch, but since we sometimes go months without talking, I was stunned when she called to tell me she was getting married.

I was so happy for her. For her to even want to get married said it all! I tried like hell to get out there, but with my budget I couldn’t get any further than Atlanta, and that was the wrong direction.

Not only was Atlanta the wrong direction but she was so inflexible about moving her wedding to Altanta that I had to send a proxy instead.

You know that expression about something happening ‘when pigs fly’? Well, if this wedding wasn’t proof that pigs could fly I don’t know what is.

Hence the gift, and hence the special page just for me and the special video just for me. Being all hormonal <connected story here: That darn cat*> I could just cry again to think about it, but don’t worry, you’ll smile when you check it out.

Here’s the link. Since the page is all about me and I crave attention right now please take a look at it. It’s also entertaining and is a special tribute from a special friend.

Happy life to Karen and Tom!

You might have to cut and paste this into your browser: http://home.earthlink.net/~tomandkarenwaters/id10.html

