It’s a constant battle, but I’m trying to manage my stuff instead of letting it manage me. Part of that ‘battle’ is trying not to give in to my inner gadget whore and accumulate too much stuff.

Example of failure are the 2 mp3 players. Example of success is every time I buy something, something else must be gonned, preferably to charity.

I recently spent an inordinate amount of time debating whether to replace the Dustbuster I’d bought from my friend Stacey for $10. at least 10 years ago and that finally died.

It’s so old they don’t even make batteries for it anymore. I’d already replaced the battery once, so it’s not like I hadn’t gotten my money’s worth out of it.

At first I decided not to replace it. After all, I have my GE Home Cleaning System, so I’d just use it to clean up the stuff I would’ve used the Dustbuster for, right? <related story: The right tool for the right job (today’s cheap thrill)>

Plus if I got one (I rationalized) it’d just be another thing to plug in somewhere, get clogged up, and have to maintain. Plus (I rationalized) I’m trying to reduce the purchase of potentially useful but used less toys.

For a week I noted every time I thought, “A Dustbuster would sure come in handy now” and here’s some of what I came up with:

-getting dead moth off front window sill
-getting dead mosquitoes (?!) off the windows in the DR, kitchen and BR (all of which, I might add, I had thoroughly vacuumed and dusted just last weekend, down to the insides of all my McCoy pottery and all the ceiling fans)
-getting spilled coffee grounds off floor, table
-hair tumbleweed that showed up on LR floor
-dusting something I put on Craigslist
-stray kitty litter granules in basement

Some would call these rationalizations, but most normal people wouldn’t even think about them. They’d just buy a new one. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I put the ‘anal’ back into ‘analyst.’ There’s a reason I do what I do, but it can bite me in the butt at times like this because I can’t find my way out of a paper bag because there are too many options.

Anyway, I ended up buying a new Dustbuster and I’m extremely satisfied with my purchase.

This bad boy is a whopping 14.4 volts of power and came with a crevice tool (!). It can even be wall-mounted. Like THAT will ever happen—after spending all this time justifying, writing about and comparing Dustbusters who the hell has time to actually mount the damn thing?!

db.jpg

<tada>

It’s times like this I think “My world is getting a little too small.”

