I don’t usually touch politics because they’re all slimy, but I think this is great:

Because the Senate wants to keep Bush from appointing someone to something* in a “recess appointment” the Senate is not officially going on Christmas recess.

What does this really mean? One person goes to wherever they do Senate work (which I really should know at my age) and reads:

“The Senate will come to order” … reading from a two-line script to a floor empty of other senators but witnessed from the gallery by one reporter and about a half dozen staffers. “Under the previous order, the Senate stands in recess until Friday, December 28th, 2007 at 10 a.m.”

It’s taken between 9 and 30 seconds each time they’ve done it. A different senator is “assigned” to do it each time.

And they just keep doing it every couple of days so Bush can’t make some political appointment, as he is wont to do when Congress is on vacation.

That’s what I call using the system to your advantage! I love it.

CNN (boring) link: <http://www.cnn.com/2007/POLITICS/12/26/senate.pro.forma/index.html&gt;

from an AP story: <http://hosted.ap.org/dynamic/stories/Q/QUICK_SENATE?SITE=NHPOR&SECTION=HOME&TEMPLATE=DEFAULT&gt;

*I’m interested but not that interested.

