Unless you’re a sociopath you probably have something you regret. I only have a few regrets so far, so I guess that’s good (or else I’m a sociopath).

My “regrets” are usually along the line of “I regret I had to experience that pain” or “I regret I didn’t learn this lesson the last time I thought I learned it.” Those aren’t really regrets, though.

Those are more like “This really sucks and I wish I didn’t have to go through it” events, but that doesn’t mean I’ve regretted the experience that led to the “this really sucks” moment. Actually, sometimes what leads to the “this really sucks” moment isn’t even within your control anyway, like when someone dies.

ANYWAY, my point wasn’t to discuss regrets. In fact, my point is to talk about non-regrets.

Can I be both shallow and deep for a few minutes? Sure, I could continue discussing my weighty topics of late (IHopeYouGetAKidneyStone…) but I am nothing if not versatile, so now I want to discuss a couple of personal non-regrets.

One non-regret was borrowing money to redo my kitchen. How many people have you heard say they “wish they had done it sooner” <whatever “it” is>? By that time, they’re usually moving or dying.

Of course, when you have gold & white tile, paneling, and pink and gray laminate flooring, one could argue I had to do it. Someday “when I have time” (HA!) I’ll dig up an old pre-hab photo and scan it, but just hearing the colors oughta give you a clue…

Now I have a dishwasher-ette, nice cabinets, more storage, a tilt-out sponge holder (little things matter in a small space) and (my favorite) a set of drawers with a hidden pull-out cutting board. And I love my rounded counter corners. They’ve saved me many bruises, pokes and curses.

 

dscn2515-cropped-medium.jpg

The only 1/2-way decent photo I could find without a lot of work

 

Another non-regret is buying my diamond ring. I started saving for it because 1. I love diamonds 2. I was having major crisis at the prospect of turning 40 and decided this might help me get through it easier (yeah I know, drowning my sorrows in material goods, but what can I say? I think the process of getting it helped). 3. I wasn’t sure I was gonna get a diamond ring the “usual” way (good thing I didn’t wait for THAT to happen!) and 4. I derived so much pleasure from my kitchen that I was glad I didn’t wait for the “right time” to do it.

My “OMG* I’m Turning 40” crisis actually began about 2 1/2 years before I turned 40. It literally ended the morning of my 40th birthday. Which was on a beach in Mexico, so I guess it’s hard to feel bad in that situation anyway, but the crisis was just over.

I can’t really explain why the crisis occurred and why its conclusion was so anti-climactic, but I got through it. I also got a diamond ring and a brief thing with a jeweler I met while shopping doing research.

Brief aside: I have to claim inventing the whole “right hand diamond ring” thing. They started marketing it about a year after I bought my ring, which I wear on my right hand, but there was nobody doing it until then. I guess that’s a regret—that I didn’t trademark or patent that idea.

And it’s not like I love diamonds so much that I keep buying them. I haven’t gotten a necklace or earrings because I wouldn’t be able to see them, and I like to see my diamonds sparkle.

Sometimes I feel shallow for enjoying this “thing” so much, when (other than my gadget-coveting-though-usually-not-buying) I try to follow the William Morris tenet about having only things that are useful or beautiful.

What can I say? I don’t regret it and still derive great pleasure when I see it sparkle in the sunlight on my stubby finger. It was money well-spent.

*Omar, Sarah: “Oh My God”

0316082032a.jpg

 

