Ah, shopping with mom. That time-honored tradition…

Here’s how I think of the “old” way: You go out to lunch, go to a mall, wander around and buy whatever you just can’t keep your hands off or whatever the other person really wants but can’t justify buying without some encouragement from her cohort. I don’t do that.

And then there’s my mom and me going shopping:

Mom swings by in her convertible, looks at the house and garden for a few, gets jumped on by the dog and then the cat, both of which she’s allergic to and barely tolerates on a good day, and we leave…

I’ve already done our “pre-shopping” online, found items that match what we each want, checked out reviews for both, and located both on sale.

Off we go Best Buy, where we get her new laser printer and look (in vain) for headphones with a radio built in (HA!) (with the 12-year old sales person looking at her like she’s asking for a reel – to – reel tape player) and we end up leaving with just the laser printer.

Then we go across the street to Sears, where I get my Craftsman 18 volt cordless drill/driver, new set of drill and driver bits (every girl needs a splurge…), a new set of Phillips head screwdrivers.

It was my mom who actually pointed out how times have changed: Today’s moms and daughters shop for electronics and hardware, not clothes and shoes…

