Dang it! I really wanted Hillary to win. Note: that doesn’t mean I don’t want Barack to win, because I really like him actually, but I just really wanted her to win the nomination because to me, she’s more than a politician.

She represents what the ’70s* (and prior) feminists** fought and worked for. She represents what we want but still eludes our grasp. I wondered if I’d ever see a female president, and I just really wanted to see it finally happen.

Politically, I think she and Barack are basically 2 sides of the same coin. I would’ve been happy with either one of them — they think similarly, though they represent different things.

She represents experience and action and he is idealism and possibility. They’d actually be a good ticket together, but apparently that doesn’t happen in politics.

Anyway, for women my age and older, Hillary as president would’ve be the fulfillment of dreams. She’s the embodiment of all the women I emulated as a child/young woman.

In TV fiction it was That Girl (Marlo Thomas), Julia, and Mary Tyler Moore, who were trailblazers: they were the first “single career women” on TV. Although Julia had a daughter (and was a “single mother” –rare on tv) the others weren’t “normal” because they weren’t married stay-at-home moms with kids.

They lived independently and happily because of, not despite their “status.” They made it on their own, to quote the MTM song. Like many, I wanted to be MTM. She even made Minneapolis in the winter seem appealing!

Was it a coincidence that my first apartment was on the top floor of a house and was in Wisconsin? It was subconscious to be sure, but it probably wasn’t coincidence…

Hillary, while flawed, and who made some incredibly stupid mistakes (besides Bill) is the embodiment of what earlier women (including the fictional ones) paved the way for: possibility, choice, power. She worked for civil rights, women’s rights, health care, etc. She walked the talk.

Whether you like her or not, women like her made things possible that young women now take for granted and assume is theirs for the taking. My generation is the transitional one between not having it and assuming it’s there for the taking — it*** was maybe possible but you had to be aggressive, hard-working and — dare I say it? — what men would often call “a bit$$.”

I don’t take equality, reproductive rights or pay equity for granted, because none of these was there when I was younger. Women still don’t have pay equity, and of course there’s still sexism, but things have improved.

Real-life women like Gloria Steinem, Bella Abzug, Erica Jong, Shirley Chisolm, and soooo many more were at the forefront in earning those rights for us. They deserve our respect and admiration for getting them for us. Hillary was behind the scenes, living and doing what others were vocalizing.

Many people my age had no faith in politics for good reason. I grew up seeing Vietnam, Watergate, Nixon, Reagan. That was the best we could do?!

No wonder I had no interest in politicians and think they’re mostly sellout slimeballs! I don’t remember any politicians to get passionate about, although that Reagan was a smooth talker.

While Hillary doesn’t represent the idealism that Barack represents, she represents achievement. She is the achievement, the goal (almost) met. She represents opportunity and possibility.

Barack, on the other hand, has great appeal to “younger voters,” which I think is GREAT. I’m glad there’s finally somebody “the kids” (and adults) can get excited about.

He’s obviously as historic as Hillary in his own right. He too represents what generations before him fought and died for. He also represents the dream, hope.

He represents possibility. He’s like RFK, who represented idealism and what could happen if we believe, have hope, and work towards the hope, towards the goal.

Let’s hope he achieves all of his promise and potential.

*when I was growing up

**And why is this considered negative now? I’m proud to call myself a feminist!

***however you define “it”

<changed post title after hearing someone on NPR say this about campaign >

