With impending under-employment, I started to rationalize away the “need” to buy a new TV, which I’ve since learned also means a new DVR if I want to watch TV while recording something else. Which happens more than you might think.

Regular readers know I love the Ellen de Generes show (and even if you’re irregular, you still might know). Aside from her, an occasional Opie (my “pet” name for Oprah, whom I was known to worship) and stuff on PBS (ooh – but that’s an important consideration) I figured I could watch everything else on my laptop ’til I saved up the moolah, pried open my wallet, or had a new job.

Then I remembered my new favorite daytime show that I also record now, The Bonnie Hunt Show. She’s a comedian who’s been in a lot of stuff over the years. I can’t think of anything right now except David Letterman, but check out imdb.com. They’ll tell you.

I love her show: She’s about 2 years than me, is a fellow Midwesterner (Chicago) and she’s a little ‘off.’  She grew up in a big family too (need I say more?!) Like me, she’s also single, without kids, although she is recently divorced (I knew better twice).

Take today’s show, which I’m watching now: She just had Tim Conway on. She’d never met him and she’d admired him so long she was practically crying. They got Bob Newhart to bring out a Bday cake for Conway and she called both of them “Mister.”

Seriously, can you see someone like Tyra Banks <subtext: young> calling either of them “Mister”?!

She just lets herself out and she’s hilarious. Also today, she had a hot French chef on.

(Actually I think a French man could look like a blister, but as soon as he talked to me – English or French – I’d melt). Raarr.

Anyway, she cracked me up too (and this is definitely a maybe – you – had – to – be – there moment) because she was practically retching at the thought of cutting into some seafood thing that (frankly) looked like (what I imagine) a whale’s pen@s must look like.

It was one of those things that wouldn’t have looked so gross if you didn’t know what it was.

The audience was laughing but she said something like “What?! Some people have ‘texture stuff.'”

(like my friend Ann, who can’t abide talking about – not to mention eating – jelly. I know, I don’t get it either).

Like I said, possibly a you – had – to – be – there moment, but all of these are making me re-think the whole tv thing now dammit, ’cause you can’t get any of this online (that I’ve figured out, anyway). sigh.

I realize these are terrible problems to have. Add the whole “gadget geek” part and it’s downright hell I tell you, but that’s ok. No pity is needed, although money (or gifts in kind) are welcome… Also please drop a note if you know how to get this online – ahem.

